Rutshire Chronicles by Jilly Cooper
The Rutshire Chronicles is a series of romance novels by British author Jilly Cooper. The series is about the British upper class, including the crowds involved with show-jumping and polo. As it is romance, the situations do get steamy as well as scandalous. One of the central characters is Rupert Campbell-Black, who ties many of the characters together.

Jilly Cooper began her Rutshire Chronicles series in 1986 with the novel Riders. The series can be read in order or as standalone novels. Below is a list of Jilly Cooper’s Rutshire Chronicles in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Jilly Cooper releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rutshire Chronicles Books

If You Like Rutshire Chronicles Books, You’ll Love…

Rutshire Chronicles Synopses: In Riders by Jilly Cooper (book 1 of the series), Jake Lovell can charm any horse or woman he comes into contact with. He is driven by his hatred for the darling of the show ring, Rupert Campbell-Black. The two feud across Europe, coming to a climax at the Los Angeles Olympics.

Rivals is the second novel in the Rutshire Chronicles series by Jilly Cooper. Declan O’Hara enter the backstabbing world of Corinium Television, bringing along glamour, integrity, an amazing wife, a son and two teenage daughters. Living too closeby is Rupert Campbell-Black, who is divorced and penniless, and now the Tory Minister for Sport.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Rutshire Chronicles Books

2 Responses to “Order of Rutshire Chronicles Books”

  1. Pete Williams: 6 months ago

    Congratulations, Dame Jilly!

    you let slip that there WILL be another R.C.B book in the future.

    possible title, ‘Once a Knight’?


  2. Eileen white: 2 years ago

    Just love Rupert Campbell Black hope we get another Rutshire chronicles soon .


Leave a Reply