Truman Smith is the central character in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Bill Crider. “Tru” is a nearly-40 retired P.I. from Dallas who has moved back home to Galveston, Texas in order to pursue the disappearance of his sister. Meanwhile, he earns his living taking odd jobs.

Truman Smith made his debut in the 1991 novel Dead on the Island. The most recent novel in the series is 1997’s Murder Takes a Break. Below is a list of Bill Crider’s Truman Smith books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Truman Smith Private Eye Books

Dead on the Island(1991)Description / Buy at
Gator Kill(1992)Description / Buy at
When Old Men Die(1994)Description / Buy at
The Prairie Chicken Kill(1996)Description / Buy at
Murder Takes a Break(1997)Description / Buy at

If You Like Truman Smith Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Truman Smith Books

Leave a Reply