Varg Veum by Gunnar Staalesen
Varg Veum is the protagonist in a series of Scandinavian crime fiction novels by Norwegian novelist Gunnar Staalesen. Varg Veum is a private investigator based in the west coast Norwegian city of Bergen. The series has been adapted into two different film series, both with Trond Espen Seim portraying Varg Veum.

Gunnar Staalesen began his Varg Veum series in 1977 with the novel Bukken til havresekken. The first novel of the series to be published in English was At Night All Wolves Are Grey in 1983. Below is a list of Gunnar Staalesen’s Varg Veum books in order of when they were first released (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Gunnar Staalesen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Varg Veum Books

Yours Until Death(1979)Description / Buy at
At Night All Wolves Are Grey(1983)Description / Buy at
Fallen Angels(1989)Description / Buy at
The Writing on the Wall(1995)Description / Buy at
The Consorts of Death(2006)Description / Buy at
Cold Hearts(2008)Description / Buy at
We Shall Inherit the Wind(2010)Description / Buy at
Where Roses Never Die(2012)Description / Buy at
Wolves in the Dark(2014)Description / Buy at
Big Sister(2016)Description / Buy at
Wolves at the Door(2020)Description / Buy at
Bitter Flowers(2021)Description / Buy at
Mirror Image(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Varg Veum Books, You’ll Love…

Varg Veum Synopsis: In The Writing on the Wall by Gunnar Staalesen, Varg Veum is sent into a darker part of higher society full of cross-dressing, drugs and prostitution. When a judge is found dead wearing women’s lingerie in an expensive hotel, Varg must explain what happened to the man. Then, the parents of a missing teenage girl want Varg to find their daughter. The more Varg learns, the further he must go into the seedy underworld of Bergen, Norway.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Varg Veum Books

Leave a Reply