The Wicked Years is a series of fantasy novels by American author Gregory Maguire. Based on the Wizard of Oz series by L. Frank Baum and the 1939 movie adaptation, the book tells the story of the Wicked Witch of the West (named “Elphaba” in the series). Unlike most of Maguire’s books, this series is aimed towards adults.

The Wicked Years series began in 1995 with the novel Wicked. That novel was adapted into a hit Broadway musical in 2003. The seris ended in 2011 with the conclusion Out of Oz. Below is a list of Gregory Maguire’s Wicked Years books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Gregory Maguire releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Wicked Years Books

Chronological Order of The Wicked Years Books

If You Like Wicked Years Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Wicked Years Books

Leave a Reply