Young Sherlock Holmes is a series of YA spy thriller/mystery novels by British novelist Andrew Lane. Based on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes character. In this series, Sherlock is a 14-year-old teenager, with all the troubles of a youth, but still shows the brilliance of the older version of the character. The series is also known as Sherlock Holmes: The Legend Begins in the United States.

Andrew Lane began his Young Sherlock Holmes series in 2010 with the novel Death Cloud. Below is a list of Andrew Lane’s Young Sherlock Holmes books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Andrew Lane releases a new book at

Publication Order of Young Sherlock Holmes Books

Note: Red Leech was also published as Rebel Fire in the USA.

If You Like Young Sherlock Holmes Books, You’ll Love…

Young Sherlock Holmes Synopsis: Death Cloud by Andrew Lane is the first Young Sherlock Holmes novel. It is is 1868, and Sherlock Holmes is 14 years old. His life is that of a normal army officer’s son: boarding school, good manners, a classical education – the backbone of the British Empire. But things are about to change. With his father suddenly sent to India, and his mother mysteriously ‘unwell’, Sherlock is sent to stay with his eccentric uncle and aunt in their vast house in Hampshire. So begins a summer that leads Sherlock to uncover his first murder, a kidnap, corruption and a brilliantly sinister villain of exquisitely malign intent…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Young Sherlock Holmes Books

Leave a Reply