Order of Laura Joh Rowland Books

Laura Joh Rowland is an American author of historical fiction and historical mystery novels. She writes the Sano Ichiro series and the Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte series. Laura is the granddaughter of Chinese and Korean immigrants. She grew up in Michigan and earned her B.S. in microbiology and a Master of Public Health at […]


Order of Simon Brett Books

Simon Brett is an English novelist of mystery novels. He writes the Charles Paris, Mrs. Pargeter, Fethering Mysteries and Blotto & Twinks series. He is also an accomplished playwright. Simon got his degree (with first-class honours) from Dulwich College and Wadham College, Oxford. He went on to work for BBC Radio, which included producing the […]


Order of Donald Lam & Bertha Cool Books

Donald Lam and Bertha Cool are the protagonists in a series of detective fiction by American author A.A. Fair (Erle Stanley Gardner). Unlike most detectives of his time, Donald Lam is 5’6″, 130 lbs., often ends up in fights and usually comes out on the losing end of them. Lam starts out as an employee […]


Order of Doug Selby Books

Doug Selby is the protagonist in a series of detective fiction by American author Erle Stanley Gardner. Selby starts out as D.A. in the rural fictional town of Madison City, California. He is only worried about justice, rather than his winning percentage as a prosecuting attorney.


Order of Perry Mason Books

Perry Mason is the protagonist in a series of detective fiction novels and stories by American novelist Erle Stanley Gardner. Mason works as a defense lawyer, but usually ends up working as a detective in the process in order to clear his client’s name. The series was adapted to the TV series of the same […]


Order of Erle Stanley Gardner Books

Erle Stanley Gardner (1889-1970) was an American author of detective fiction. He was best known for creating the Perry Mason character and also wrote Cool and Lam series as A.A. Fair as well as the Doug Selby series. Before getting into writing, Erle was working as a lawyer, so he began writing stories for pulp […]


Order of Inspector Barnaby Books

Detective Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby is the central character in a series of mystery/detective fiction novels by English author Caroline Graham. He is based out of Causton, a fictional town in southeast England and mostly deals with murders that occur in the English countryside. He is a methodical, yet perceptive detective. The series has been […]


Order of Inspector Maigret Books

Inspector (or Commissaire) Jules Maigret is the lead character in a series of detective fiction novels by Belgian author Georges Simenon. Maigret is a French detective who works for the Paris Brigade Criminelle. He is best known for smoking his pipe, his detective style of mixing intuition with method and his love of alcohol. While […]


Order of Bill Slider Books

Inspector Bill Slider is a fictional character who appears in a series of detective fiction/mystery novels by British author Cynthia Harrod-Eagles. Bill Slider works as a police inspector out of the Shepherd’s Bush CID in London, England. Before starting to write the series, Harrod-Eagles had no idea how to write a detective novel and just […]


Order of Commissaire Adamsberg Books

Commissaire Adamsberg is a series of crime thriller novels by French author Fred Vargas. Commissaire (or Chief Inspector) Jean-Baptiste Adamsberg is a police chief who travels around a lot as part of the job, but is based out of Paris, France. Adrien Danglard is Adamsberg’s deputy who is more methodical, as opposed to Adamsberg (who […]