Clara Benson is the author of the Angela Marchmont Mysteries series and Freddy Pilkington-Soames Adventures series.

Benson’s Angela Marchmont series is historical fiction, but that wasn’t her original intention while writing them. She was really just a big fan of Golden Age works like Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Ngaio Marsh, and wanted to do her best to replicate them. To achieve this, Benson made the decision to write “in character” as Clara Benson, an author from that era. Her writing ultimately lead to her debut as a novelist with The Murder at Sissingham Hall in 2013. Clara lives with her family in the North of London.

Get notified when Clara Benson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Angela Marchmont Mystery Books

The Murder at Sissingham Hall (2013)Description / Buy at
The Mystery at Underwood House (2013)Description / Buy at
The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (2013)Description / Buy at
The Riddle at Gipsy's Mile (2014)Description / Buy at
The Incident at Fives Castle (2014)Description / Buy at
The Imbroglio at the Villa Pozzi (2014)Description / Buy at
The Problem at Two Tithes (2015)Description / Buy at
The Trouble at Wakeley Court (2015)Description / Buy at
The Scandal at 23 Mount Street (2015)Description / Buy at
Angela's Christmas Adventure (2016)Description / Buy at
The Man on the Train (2018)Description / Buy at
A Question of Hats (2018)Description / Buy at
The Shadow at Greystone Chase (2019)Description / Buy at
The Body on Archangel Beach (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Freddy Pilkington-Soames Adventures Books

A Case of Blackmail in Belgravia (2016)Description / Buy at
A Case of Murder in Mayfair (2016)Description / Buy at
A Case of Conspiracy in Clerkenwell (2017)Description / Buy at
A Case of Duplicity in Dorset (2017)Description / Buy at
A Case of Suicide in St. James's (2019)Description / Buy at
A Case of Robbery on the Riviera (2020)Description / Buy at
A Case of Perplexity in Piccadilly (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Lucases of Lucas Lodge (2016)Description / Buy at
In Darkness, Look for Stars (2020)Description / Buy at
The Stolen Letter (2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Clara Benson Books, You’ll Love…

The Murder at Sissingham Hall is the first book in the Angela Marchmont Mystery series. The book begins when Charles Knox returns from South Africa and spends the weekend at the home of Sir Neville Strickland. The two know each other as Knox was once engaged to Neville’s wife. That night, Neville is murdered. Suspicion falls on each of the house guests with Knox not knowing who to trust with Angela Marchmont being the only one who is offering a solution to the matter.

A Case of Blackmail in Belgravia is the first book in the Freddy Pilkington-Soames Adventure series. Ticky Maltravers is considered to be the toast of 1929 London until someone murders him. As it turns out there were numerous people with secrets who wanted him dead. Freddy Pilkington-Soames is a newspaper reporter who has a drunken encounter with Ticky’s corpse that he doesn’t want the police to know about. He wants to stay out of it, but a pretty girl is asking him to help solve the mystery and he can’t help but to agree. He’ll need to work face to unmask the murderer before the police figure out what’s really going on.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Clara Benson Books

Leave a Reply