Emma Donoghue is an Irish author of literary fiction novels and stories. Emma grew up in Dublin, attending Catholic convent schools there, aside from spending a year in New York when she was 10. In 1990, she earned a first-class honours B.A. in English and French from University College Dublin, and in 1997 a Ph.D from the University of Cambridge. Emma has been able to earn her living as a full-time writer since the age of 23. After spending years commuting between England, Ireland and Canada, she settled in London, Ontario, Canada and lives there with her partner and their children.

Emma Donoghue made her debut as a published author in 1993 with the short story collection Kissing the Witch and the non-fiction book Passions Between Women. Below is a list of Emma Donoghue’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Emma Donoghue releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Finbar's Hotel Books

Ladies' Night at Finbar's Hotel (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Lotterys Plus One Books

The Lotterys Plus One (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lotterys More or Less (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Kissing the Witch (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Woman Who Gave Birth to Rabbits (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Astray (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Touchy Subjects (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Three and a Half Deaths (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
RED (With: Victoria Hislop) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Plays

Ladies And Gentlemen (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Emma Donoghue: Selected Plays (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Signatories (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Room the Play (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Passions Between Women (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
We are Michael Field (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inseparable (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Out Of Line Books

This Telling (By: Cheryl Strayed) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Graceful Burdens (By: Roxane Gay) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sweet Virginia (By: Caroline Kepnes) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Contractors (By: Lisa Ko) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Halfway to Free (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bear Witness (By: Mary Gaitskill) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shine, Pamela! Shine! (By: Kate Atkinson) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Eleventh Annual Collection(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mammoth Book of Lesbian Short Stories(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Penguin Book of Irish Fiction(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Poems Between Women(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love and Sex(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
One Hot Second: Stories About Desire(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
How Beautiful the Ordinary: Twelve Stories of Identity(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Finding the Words(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Truth and Dare: 20 Tales of Heartbreak and Happiness(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love Alters:Stories of Lesbian Love and Erotica(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inviting Interruptions: Wonder Tales in the Twenty-First Century(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Furies(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fourteen Days: An Unauthorized Gathering(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Ladies’ Night at Finbar’s Hotel was written with Maeve Binchy, Dermot Bolger, Clare Boylan, Anne Haverty, Kate O’Riordan and Deirdre Purcell. RED also has stories by Cecelia Ahern, Rachel Cusk, Max Hastings, Victoria Hislop, Anthony Horowitz, Hanif Kureishi, Andrew Motion and Will Self.

If You Like Emma Donoghue Books, You’ll Love…

Emma Donoghue Synopses: Hood is a standalone title by Emma Donoghue. In the late ’70s, convent school teenagers Pen O’Grady and Cara Wall fall in love. They prove themselves to be up to the challenge of a relationship deemed unacceptable in Catholic Ireland – until Cara dies in a car accident.

In The Wonder by Emma Donoghue, tourists flock to the cabin of eleven-year-old Anna O’Donnell, who believes herself to be living off manna from heaven, and a journalist is sent to cover the sensation. Lib Wright, a veteran of Florence Nightingale’s Crimean campaign, is hired to keep watch over the girl.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Emma Donoghue Books

Leave a Reply