Matt Hilton is a British author of thriller novels. As a child, he wrote short stories and even attempted a novel at age 11. Before getting published, Matt worked in security and as a cop. His influences include Jeffery Deaver and Dean Koontz, among others. His series character is Joe Hunter. Matt also writes short stories under the pen name of Vallon Jackson.

Matt Hilton made his debut as a published author in 2009 with Dead Men’s Dust. Below is a list of Matt Hilton’s books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Matt Hilton releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joe Hunter Books

Dead Men's Dust (2009)Description / Buy at
Dead Fall (2009)Description / Buy at
Judgement and Wrath (2010)Description / Buy at
Slash and Burn (2010)Description / Buy at
Cut and Run (2010)Description / Buy at
Blood and Ashes (2011)Description / Buy at
Dead Men's Harvest (2011)Description / Buy at
No Going Back (2012)Description / Buy at
Rules of Honour (2013)Description / Buy at
Red Stripes (2013)Description / Buy at
The Lawless Kind (2014)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Anvil (2015)Description / Buy at
Hot Property (2016)Description / Buy at
No Safe Place (2016)Description / Buy at
Marked for Death (2017)Description / Buy at
The Fourth Option (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Carter Bailey Books

Publication Order of Tess Grey & Po Villere Books

Publication Order of DI Kerry Drake Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Dominion (2011)Description / Buy at
Darkest Hour (2011)Description / Buy at
Mark Darrow and the Stealer of Souls (2013)Description / Buy at
The Shadows Call (2014)Description / Buy at
Tempus / The Phoenix Man (2015)Description / Buy at
The Girl on Shattered Rock (2019)Description / Buy at
Wildfire (2020)Description / Buy at
The Girl in the Smoke (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Dirk Ramm: Suited and Booted (2013)Description / Buy at
Demon Drink and Devil's Porridge (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

True Brit Grit(2011)Description / Buy at
Action: Pulse Pounding Tales, Volume 1(2012)Description / Buy at
Uncommon Assassins(2012)Description / Buy at
Off The Record 2 - At The Movies - A Charity Anthology(2012)Description / Buy at
Action: Pulse Pounding Tales, Volume 2(2013)Description / Buy at
Death Toll 2(2013)Description / Buy at
Death Toll 3(2019)Description / Buy at
SNAFU: Survival of the Fittest(2021)Description / Buy at
Asinine Assassins(2021)Description / Buy at

Note: The collection Death Toll Vol. 2 also contains stories by J.H. Bogran, Stephen Edger, Milton Gray, Stephen Leather, Scott H. Lewis, Liam Saville, Alex Shaw and Harlan Wolff.

If You Like Matt Hilton Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Matt Hilton Books

Leave a Reply