Detective Murdoch Mysteries by Maureen Jennings
Detective Murdoch is the central character in a series of historical mystery novels by English-Canadian novelist Maureen Jennings. William Murdoch is a detective in the late 19th century, working in Toronto. The series has been adapted into the television series Murdoch Mysteries, which has aired both on CityTV and CBC.

Maureen Jennings began her Detective Murdoch series in 1997 with her debut novel, Except the Dying. The series ran until 2007 with A Journey to Grief – the seventh novel in the series. Below is a list of Maureen Jennings’ Detective Murdoch books in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Maureen Jennings releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Murdoch Books

Except the Dying(1997)Description / Buy at
Under the Dragon's Tail(1998)Description / Buy at
Poor Tom is Cold(2001)Description / Buy at
Let Loose the Dogs(2003)Description / Buy at
Night's Child(2005)Description / Buy at
Vices of My Blood(2006)Description / Buy at
A Journeyman to Grief(2007)Description / Buy at
Shipwreck(2010)Description / Buy at
Let Darkness Bury the Dead(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Murdoch Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Detective Murdoch Books

Leave a Reply