Order of Cole & Hitch Books

Cole & Hitch is a western series by American author Robert B. Parker and later by Robert Knott. “Cole” is Virgil Cole, the new marshal of the mining and ranching town of Appaloosa. “Hitch” is Everett Hitch, his deputy. Cole & Hitch was a departure for Parker, who usually wrote detective novels until his Wyatt Earp novel Gunman’s Rhapsody in 2001. The first book of the series, Appaloosa, was adapted into a film in 2008. (more…)


Order of Sunny Randall Books

Sunny Randall is a fictional female detective created by American author Robert B. Parker. Parker created the character for Helen Hunt, although the film was never made. Despite that, Parker continued the series at the request of his publisher. Although there are similarities between Sunny Randall and Spenser (both are well connected detectives from Boston), there are far more differences. (more…)


Order of Jesse Stone Books

Jesse Stone is a fictional character created by detective novelist Robert B. Parker and later written by Michael Brandman. Jesse is an ex-LAPD copper who is forced to leave his job and moves to the small town of Paradise, Massachusetts. Unlike Parker’s most well-known character, Spenser, Stone is a man with many personal problems. (more…)


Order of Spenser Books

Spenser is a series of fictional detective novels by American author Robert B. Parker and later by Ace Atkins. Spenser is a private detective in Boston, although originally from Wyoming. (more…)


Order of Robert B. Parker Books

Robert B. Parker (1932-2010) was a prolific American novelist, who specialized in writing detective and western novels. Parker may be best known for his Spenser series, but that doesn’t mean he was a one trick pony. His other series included Jesse Stone, Sunny Randall, Cole & Hitch (Appaloosa) and a couple of Philip Marlowe novels. He also had a number of standalone novels and non-fiction books to his credit. (more…)


Order of Thousand Worlds Books

Thousand Worlds is a four-part sci-fi series by Canadian-American novelist Joel Rosenberg. Thousand Worlds is a science fiction series with lots of gunplay and action. (more…)


Order of Guardians Of The Flame Books

Guardians of the Flame is a fantasy series by Canadian-American novelist Joel Rosenberg. While playing a fantasy roleplaying game, a group of college students are suddenly transported into the game world by the gamemaster. In this fantasy world, they have to struggle to survive inside their own game. (more…)


Order of Joel Rosenberg Books

Joel Rosenberg (1954-2011) was a Canadian-American science fiction and fantasy novelist, not to be confused with the thriller novelist named Joel C. Rosenberg. He is best known for his Guardians of the Flame series. Rosenberg passed away suddenly on June 2nd, 2011. (more…)


Order of Tommy and Tuppence Books

Thomas Beresford and Prudence Cowley (better known as Tommy and Tuppence) are a couple of fictional detectives created by British author Agatha Christie. They stumbled into detective work accidentally, when they discovered it was more profitable than blackmail. Interestingly, unlike most of Christie’s characters, Tommy and Tuppence age inbetween their appearances. (more…)


Order of Miss Marple Books

Miss Jane Marple (usually referred to as “Miss Marple”) has appeared in a dozen novels by British author Agatha Christie as well as 20 short stories. This elderly woman is often underestimated, but she is able to solve even the most difficult crimes. This is largely attributed to the time she has spent in St. Mary Mead making her knowledgeable about human nature. She is also very shrewd and intelligent. (more…)