2011 Strand Magazine Critics Awards Nominees Announced

Written by Julie Vegas on Wednesday, March 7th, 2012

The nominees for the 2011 Strand Magazine Critics Awards have been announced! These awards look to recognize the best in mystery fiction and are judged by such media outlets as USA Today, the LA Times, the Chicago Tribune and others. (more…)


Order of Discworld Books

Discworld is a universe and series of fantasy novels created by British author Terry Pratchett. The series has been adapted into many other different forms of media, including movies, television, video games, plays, radio and comic books. The Discworld universe is so huge that there are Discworld-themed conventions. (more…)


“Catching Fire” Screenplay Finished

Written by Jenny Brady on Tuesday, March 6th, 2012

The Hunger Games won’t be out in movie theatres everywhere for a couple of weeks, but the first draft of the script for Catching Fire is already finished and has been delivered to series creator Suzanne Collins. (more…)


Release Date for “One Shot” Jack Reacher Movie Announced

Written by Ella Thomson on Tuesday, March 6th, 2012

The tentative release date for the movie “One Shot” starring Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher has been announced. (more…)


Order of Terry Pratchett Books

Terry Pratchett was an English author who is best known for his Discworld comic fantasy series.

Terry Pratchett sadly passed away on March 12th, 2015.

Pratchett battled Alzheimer’s disease for years after announcing it online in 2007. He died after a chest infection, as well as complications from the Alzheimers.

In true Terry Pratchett style, he had tweets posted on his Twitter immediately following his death. The Tweets stated:

“Terry took Death’s arm and followed him through the doors and on to the black desert under the endless night.”


“The End.”

Pratchett had his first short story published when he was 15 and had been writing ever since. He has been focused on his Discworld series since 1983 with nearly 40 books in the series. He has also written several children’s novels and other standalone novels. Many consider Pratchett to be the funniest writer of the last few decades. (more…)


“The Thief” by Clive Cussler Hits Shelves Today!

Written by Brandon Williams on Tuesday, March 6th, 2012

Looking for some adventure? Not a problem! Today is the release date of Clive Cussler‘s newest novel, The Thief. It’s the fifth book in the Isaac Bell Adventures. (more…)


Order of Net Force Books

The Op-Center series is a series created by American authors Tom Clancy and Steve Pieczenik and written by Steve Perry. This division of the FBI was first alluded to in the Op-Center novel Games of State. There is also a young adult spin-off called Tom Clancy’s Net Force Explorers. (more…)


Order of Op-Center Books

The Op-Center series is a series created by American authors Tom Clancy and Steve Pieczenik and written by Jeff Rovin. The series centers around the National Crisis Management Center (also known as the “Op-Center”), which is an agency that handles domestic and international crises. The director of the agency has a direct line to the President. Op-Center is The Simpsons’ Moe Szyslak’s favourite book. (more…)


Order of Jack Ryan/John Clark Books

The Jack Ryan/John Clark series is a series of novels by popular American novelist Tom Clancy. The series consists of 15 books over nearly 30 years – three of which have been adapted into films. (more…)


Order of Tom Clancy Books

Tom Clancy is an American author who is best known for his Jack Ryan novels such as The Hunt for Red October, Rainbow Six, Clear and Present Danger and The Sum of All Fears. Clancy’s novels have been adapted into several movies and also video games. The majority of Clancy’s novels are in the Jack Ryan/John Clark series (with the exception of three standalone novels). The other series (branded “Tom Clancy’s”) are series created or co-created by him and actually written by other authors such as Grant Blackwood. (more…)